Researching Topics In Religion
Reference books are found both in the physical Library and in our e-book databases, netLibrary and Books 24x7. A reference book is a work, such as a dictionary or encyclopedia, containing useful facts or information. Because these books are consulted for brief information and not read all the way through, they do not leave the library. They are located in the reference section, that is, in the first couple rows of books in the Library.
- R 299.703 HR Encyclopedia of Native American Religions
- R 808.8 ADL Religion and Theology
- R 203 FER Encyclopedia of Religion
- netLibrary Concise Encyclopedia of Language and Religion
- netLibrary A Companion to the Philosophy of Religion
You can search the e-book databases directly via the "databases" page to find more virtual titles, or use the Library's catalog to find physical books in our Library.
(I need help accessing the databases)
The Library subscribes to--that is, pays for--a number of databases that contain articles, books and other information for you to use for your research.
- netLibrary: netLibrary has hundred's of books on the topic of religion. Do keyword searches using boolean operators for the best results.
- Academic Search Elite (EbscoHost): Offers thousands of articles, both scholarly and popular, on the topic of religion. Remember that you must use Boolean operators when searching any EbscoHost database.
- Encyclopedia Britannica: A great source for quick and thorough background information on the religions of the world.
(I need help choosing quality websites)
Because anyone can publish anything they want on the Web, you need to be cautious about which sites you choose to use. Here are sites we recommend for researching this topic:
Provides statistical information about adherents, church membership, and affiliations, covering 4,200 churches, denominations, and other religious groups. Provides information about religions affiliation for all nations of the world, and looks at adherents on a state/regional level.
- CESNUR: Center for Studies on New Religions
Sponsored by an association of religious scholars publishing on emerging and esoteric religions and movements.
- ipl2: Religion and Philosophy
Web sites about a wide array of topics in religion, selected and cataloged by Librarians with subject expertise.
- Rutgers University Religion Department
An immense amount of information and data about world religions.
- Creation/Migration/Origin Stories (Mostly Native American)
(http://www.indians.org/welker/legend.htm) Creation and migration myths in the Native American tradition.
- Encyclopedia Mythica
An online encyclopedia of mythology, folklore and legends from around the globe.
- MYTHING LINKS - Common Themes Creation Myths
This site explores commonalities among the world's different creation myths.
- Internet Sacred Text Archive
Texts of sacred text from around the world, translated into English.
- World Scripture A Comparative Anthology of Sacred Texts
Organized by theme, this site allows the user to find and compare an array of sacred writings on a similar theme.