You are using an outdated Internet browser to view this web site. To improve your web browsing experience and better protect your computer from harmful web sites, consider updating to one of the following browsers:



Library:

Researching Topics In Literature



Books
Reference Books
Databases
Web sites


Books

Use the Library's catalog to search for books. You can search by:

At the Peirce College Library, all works of fiction are shelved in the "F" section, by author's last name. All books about literature are in the 800's. So, if you like, you can go to the shelves and browse (libraries that use Library of Congress Classification shelve works of literature and works about literature in the P's). Here are some examples:

Remember that many books in the public domain are now available for free on the web.


Reference Books

Reference books are found both in the physical Library and in our e-book databases, netLibrary and Books 24x7. A reference book is a work, such as a dictionary or encyclopedia, containing useful facts or information. Because these books are consulted for brief information and not read all the way through, they do not leave the library. They are located in the reference section, that is, in the first couple rows of books in the Library. Using the reference sources you can find information about:


Some reference books that you might try are:

Often, books that you can check out are published about specific companies and/or industries. Use the Library's catalog to search for such titles.


[Top]


Databases

(I need help accessing the databases)
The Library subscribes to--that is, pays for--a number of databases that contain articles, books and other information for you to use for your government research. The most useful databases for this subject are:


[Top]


Web sites

(I need help choosing quality websites)
Because anyone can publish anything they want on the Web, you need to be cautious about which sites you choose to use. Here are sites we recommend for researching this topic:


[Top]