Library:
Researching Topics In Health Information Technology
Reference Books
Databases
Web sites
Reference Books
Reference books are found in the physical Library and in our e-book databases, netLibrary and Books 24x7. A reference book is a work, such as a dictionary or encyclopedia, containing useful facts or information. Because these books are consulted for brief information and not read all the way through, they do not leave the library. They are located in the reference section, that is, in the first couple rows of books in the Library. Here's some that might be helpful (though, this is not an exhaustive list):
- R 362.1 PLU Plunkett's Health Care Industry Almanac 2011
- R 362.103 SLE Health Care Terms
- R 615.1 PDR Physicians' Desk Reference
You can search the e-book databases directly via the "databases" page to find more virtual titles, or search the Library's catalog to find physical books in our Library.
[Top]
Databases
(I need help accessing the databases)
The Library subscribes to--that is, pays for--a number of databases that contain articles, books and other information
for you to use for your accounting research. The most useful databases for this subject are:
- Faulkner's Advisory for IT Students: Provides reports on IT subjects. There is a Topic area for Healthcare IT Topics. This includes reports on areas such as Records Management, IT Security, Healthcare IT Administration, etc.
- Faulkner's Security Management Practices: Provides reports on IT security subjects. Remember that you can use Boolean operators when searching Faulkner's.
- Health Business Elite (EbscoHost): Provides articles from respected scholarly and trade publications, covering healthcare, including industry reports. Remember that you must use Boolean operators when searching any EbscoHost database. If you need a quick tutorial in Boolean click "help" in EbscoHost.
- Academic Universe (Lexis-Nexis): You can select to search health care related journals by selecting Subject Areas on the left hand menu. Then select Health & Medical Care to search in medical journals, Law Review Healthcare Articles, Healthcare Law Newsletters, Healthcare in the News, and Medical & Health Blogs.
When searching for healthcare topics, you may need to search on healthcare (one word) and also health care (two words).
[Top]
Web sites
(I need help choosing quality websites)
Because anyone can publish anything they want on the Web, you need to be cautious about which sites you choose to use. Here
are sites we recommend for researching this topic:
- HIMSS Healthcare Information and Management Systems
(http://www.himss.org/ASP/index.asp)
HIMSS is a cause-based, not-for-profit organization exclusively focused on providing global leadership for the optimal use of information technology (IT) and management systems for the betterment of healthcare. - HRSA Health Resources and Services Administration
(http://www.hrsa.gov/healthit/)
Part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services - AHIMA American Health Information Management Association
(http://www.ahima.org/ )
The American Health Information Management Association (AHIMA) is the premier association of health information management (HIM) professionals. AHIMA's more than 61,000 members are dedicated to the effective management of personal health information required to deliver quality healthcare to the public.
[Top]







