Library:
Researching Topics In Accounting
Reference Books
Databases
Web sites
Reference Books
Reference books are found in the physical Library and in our e-book databases, netLibrary and Books 24x7. A reference book is a work, such as a dictionary or encyclopedia, containing useful facts or information. Because these books are consulted for brief information and not read all the way through, they do not leave the library. They are located in the reference section, that is, in the first couple rows of books in the Library. Here's some that might be helpful (though, this is not an exhaustive list):
- R 657ACC Accountants' Handbook
- R 657 SIE Accounting Handbook
- R 657.03 BLA Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of Accounting
You can search the e-book databases directly via the "databases" page to find more virtual titles, or search the Library's catalog to find physical books in our Library.
[Top]
Databases
(I need help accessing the databases)
The Library subscribes to--that is, pays for--a number of databases that contain articles, books and other information
for you to use for your accounting research. The most useful databases for this subject are:
- Books 24x7: search this database of e-books for titles about accounting. This database contains collections of business, accounting, and finance books. You can browse topics by using the right hand menus. Finance topics has an Accounting section, and Business topics has a Finance and Accounting area. You can also do a search of the database by using the Search option at the top of the page.
- Academic Universe(Lexis-Nexis): You can select to search accounting related journals by selecting Subject Areas on the left hand menu. Then select Accounting to search in accounting and finance journals, Accounting Today, AICPA Accounting and Auditing Publications, Journal of Accountancy, Practical Accountant, Accountant's Handbook, and others.
- Local news and people: use the Philadelphia Inquirer
- Business Source Complete (EbscoHost): Provides articles from respected scholarly and trade business publications. Remember that you must use Boolean operators when searching any EbscoHost database. If you need a quick tutorial in Boolean click "help" in EbscoHost.
[Top]
Web sites
(I need help choosing quality websites)
Because anyone can publish anything they want on the Web, you need to be cautious about which sites you choose to use. Here
are sites we recommend for researching this topic:
- Ipl2: Information You Can Trust-Accounting
(http://www.ipl.org/IPLBrowse/GetSubject?vid=13&cid=1&tid=6606&parent=6607) - American Accounting Association-Web Resources
(http://aaahq.org/links/super_links.cfm)
Provides links to associations, standards, government agencies, firms, and other useful links. - AccountingCoach.com (http://www.accountingcoach.com)
AccountingCoach.com is designed to help people without an accounting background easily understand accounting concepts at no cost. The site includes a dictionary of accounting terms and information about careers.
[Top]







